top of page
  • Writer's pictureChristina

Door of My Heart 💗

Arjuna was a monk and devotee at Ananda Expanding Light in Nevada City for many years. Living in a teepee, then a small trailer, turning on his flashlight and letting it roll across the floor of the trailer, inspiring him to get up at 4am to meditate for hours (because batteries cost money!). We visited Ananda many times and met many of Arjuna's close gurubais. That peaceful, purposeful, dedicated lifestyle inspires us today as we continue to make a hermitage of our changing circumstances.


Door of My Heart Bengali Chant translated by Paramhansa Yogananda

Door of my heart, open wide I keep for Thee. Wilt Thou come, wilt Thou come?
Just for once, come to me? Will my days fly away without seeing Thee, my Lord? Night and day, night and day, I look for Thee night and day.

Kriyananda is considered the founder of intentional spiritual communities following his guru's intention for "little colonies".


This day marks the birth of a new era. My spoken words are registered in the ether, in the Spirit of God, and they shall move the West. We must go on – not only those who are here, but thousands of youths must go North, South, East, and West to cover the earth with little colonies, demonstrating that simplicity of living plus high thinking leads to the greatest happiness! —Paramhansa Yogananda, Beverly Hills, California, July 1949



Comments


bottom of page